Mechanical behaviour of concrete with recycled aggregate

18/11/2013 2987

Memoria tratta da "The New Boundaries of Structural Concrete: Session A – Performance and Life-Cycle Costs of New Concrete Structures", ACI IC - Ancona 2011

A. Caggiano 1, C. Faella 2, C. Lima 3, E. Martinelli 4, M. Mele 5, A. Pasqualini 6, R. Realfonzo 7, M. Valente 8

This study is aimed at evaluating the mechanical behaviour of recycled aggregate concretes (RAC). An extended experimental investigation has been carried out on RAC prepared by replacing variable amounts of “virgin” aggregates with recycled concrete aggregates (RCA) deriving from building demolitions. The mechanical properties measured on RAC specimens are compared to the corresponding ones obtained for a conventional concrete with 100% of natural aggregates. The watercement ratio (W/C) has been kept constant in all specimens. Some key concrete properties (i.e. strength and permeability) as well as some durability-related parameters have been measured with the aim of assessing feasibility and suitability of a RAC for structural use. Furthermore, the possible replacement of fine sand aggregates with fly ash has been also considered and compared. Stress-strain curves and the compressive strength values of both RACs and conventional concretes having different curing ages, have been evaluated and compared.

Per scaricare l'articolo completo CLICCA QUI, per sfogliare online tutti gli atti del convegno CLICCA QUI

Il volume può essere richiesto, in versione cartacea o in formato PDF, alla Segreteria ACI ITALY CHAPTER (aciitalychapter@gmail.com)



1 PhD student, University of Salerno, Italy, ancaggiano@unisa.it
2 Full Professor, University of Salerno, Italy, c.faella@unisa.it
3 Research Assistant, University of Salerno, Italy, clima@unisa.it
4 Assistant Professor, University of Salerno, Italy, e.martinelli@unisa.it
5 Quality control manager, Calcestruzzi Irpini SpA, Avellino, Italy, m.mele@irpiniacalcestruzzi.it
6 Engineer, General Admixtures SpA, Ponzano Veneto (TV), Italy, apasqualini@gageneral.com
7 Associate Professor, University of Salerno, Italy, rrealfonzo@unisa.it
8 President of General Admixtures SpA, Ponzano Veneto (TV), Italy, mvalente@gageneral.com